Have you ever been behind a large pickup and had them rev their engines pouring smoke into the air (and your car)?
This is how you report it.
The Colorado Smoking Vehicle Hotline.
From their website:
- Please include the vehicle’s license plate number and, if possible, whether it is gasoline- or diesel-powered.
- We’ll then send a Smoking Vehicle Notification to the address that appears on the vehicle’s registration.
- Repairs to smoking vehicles are required if a vehicle fails a mandatory emissions test because of a visible smoke problem.
- The cause of such smoke must be corrected before the required emissions sticker can be issued.
- A police officer may stop a smoking vehicle, issue a ticket and order the owner to make repairs.
- Colorado law provides for a $25 fine for the first violation of the smoking vehicle law. The fine for subsequent violations is $100 (CRS 42-4-412, 413).
- Some municipalities impose additional fines for operating a smoking vehicle.
How much do you value the Longmont Observer?
As Longmont’s only nonprofit newsroom, our only vested interest is to supply you with quality, nonpartisan, community-driven, Longmont-focused journalism. But, we need your help. We depend on our members to help us report Longmont news and to keep our journalism available and accessible by all. If you value what we do at the Longmont Observer, please show us with your support.